Tags

, , , , , ,

I could not sleep the night before. The air conditioning was on, temperature and moisture at nominal levels. I even swam 500m that evening, just to get tired enough. The trouble was all in my mind. Questions about the little island of Hong Kong, ticking away like a bomb. Couldn’t be bothered to stay still when the morning came, so off on a walk I went. The route was recommended by my father.

I didn’t catch the name of the trail (The Wilson Trail), but I know it was all in the Tai Tam country parks which is where I started, somewhere along the big road next to a reservoir. The first ‘hill’ had 1000 plus steps (I was counting them), you could see low flying clouds pass by by the time you got to the top. It had taken an hour and a half to reach this peak.

The rest of the walk took me over a ridge overlooking the Stanley area of Hong Kong. You could hear drumming from a dragon race in the distance. I saw a fleet of red boats in the distance as small as basmati rice ornamentally racing across the water in a triangular formation.

After the trip I went to see a few friends for a drink. The taxi driver dropped me off at the bottom of the hill, and since there weren’t many taxi’s hovering about, I walked to the top with my guitar and 12 pack of Asahi beer. some of us crashed the night on mattresses. The bloody night was so humid and hot that I still couldn’t get much sleep.

I opened my eyes feeling completely wired and drenched in my own sweat. Normally I would have been waking up freezing under the duvet in some unforgiving english climate, so the pressure pot conditions of Hong Kong were quite refreshing.

Tonight should bring restful sleep. I mean, that makes sense right?

